Removed releases standard

Using a release that has been removed from the upstream repository can present risk for your organization. These releases are no longer accessible from the repository and the removal could be an indicator of vulnerability. With the Tidelift Subscription, these releases can be kept out of your catalog by using the removed releases standard. 

image.png

Image 1: Package tagged as "Removed". 

image (1).png

Image 2: Dialogue box explaining that the selected package has been removed upstream.

Why are releases removed upstream? 

Releases may be removed by the package maintainers for different reasons. Ultimately, this is an indication that a specific release is problematic and the maintainer wants to prevent additional downloads of the release. 

How does Tidelift identify removed releases? 

Many package managers have a way of indicating that a release has been removed. Tidelift checks the status of releases regularly in order to identify the removal. 

What happens if a release in my catalog is removed upstream? 

When a release in your catalog is detected as removed, it will be denied. If you have tasks enabled on this standard, a task will also be created for an administrator to review the violation. For each release that was removed, the administrator can choose to create an override or deny the use of the release. 


Managing overrides

While it is not recommended practice, you may need to allow something that the removed releases standard has not allowed.

To do so, see Creating Overrides.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Articles in this section